Cello recital
Alexander Oratovski, cello / Wladimir Orehous, piano

The programme includes works by Joseph Achron (1887-1943), Joel Engel (1868-1927), Israel Finkelstein (1910-1987), Abraham Yusfin (1926), Alexander Krein (1883-1951), Boris Lewensohn (1884-1947), Solomon Rosowsky (1878-1962), Lazare Saminsky (1882-1959), Veniamin Scher (1900-1962), Joachim Stutchevsky (1891-1982), Alexander Weprik (1899-1958), Lev Zeitlin (1884-1930) and Alexander Zhitomirsky (1881-1937).

In 1988 Alexander Oratovski was introduced to unknown musical works by composers of the Petersburg Society of Jewish Folk Music (1908) by a relative of Joseph Achron, who had been a member of the society himself. The scores Oratovski discovered were a total surprise to him. The classical works rooted in Jewish tradition had been officially ignored during the Soviet regime and unjustifiably forgotten.

Since then Alexander Oratovski has collected numerous scores by these composers and has become an inspired performer of the music. He has given recitals in Russia, the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany and Switzerland.  
In 2008 the Society of Jewish Folk Music will celebrate its centennial, but the exquisite music remains practically unknown.

Contact Alexander Oratovski: e-mail: o.alexandre@belgacom.net  / phone: +32-4-2356036

(Download PDF file)

Musicians’ resumees
(Download PDF file)

Article by Prof. A. Yusfin
“A. Oratovski performs Jewish music”
(Download PDF file)


Projects overview